## DHS Senior Ken Krems Gets JCC's Agger Award

Kenneth Krems, Deering High, tennis captain, and track and phone charms were Margie Sicross-country letterman there, received the Robert Agger Me-morial Award at the Jewish Smith, Susan Brenerman, Lisa Community Center's 20th annual Family Sports Night Sun-

The award, which honors the former star Portland High athlete and JCC athletic director, goes to the high school senior outstanding in athletics, sportsmanship and leadership in high school and at the Center. Krems played basketball for Center teams.

For the first time, two President's Cups were awarded. They went to National Merit finalists Andrew Branz, Portland High salutatorian, and Jeffrey Goodman, Deering.

The cups are for high school seniors graduating with highest grades while participating at least two years on a Center team.

Jack Redmond, retiring as JCC athletic director, was given Alston Leland certificates for athletic program service.

Gene Hunter, coach of South Portland High's Western Maine basketball champions, was chief speaker at the event attended by more than 200 persons.

Elliott Sprince, Sacopee Valley High baseball coach, received a trophy as open foul-shooting champion. Other free throw winners were Herman Blumenthal, boys' teens; Susan Gilbert, girls' teens; Bennett Schwartz, tweens; Jackie Redmond, midgets' regular line, and Alan Mack, midgets' short

Versatile athlete Stanley Elowitch was cited as pool king. Kyle Leavitt took the midgets' ping pong event, Dr. Lloyd Wolf the paddleball singles and Yudy Elowitch still-spry Phil Schilling the paddleball doubles.

Cited as high school intramural league basketball champions 5 were Marv's members Capt. Marv Silver, David Stone, Richie Rosen, Mike Schwartz, Rick Romanow, Ed Levine, Gary Brynes, John Chase, Mike Clenott and Bruce Abromson.

The Blues, Midget intramural winners, comprised Todd Gillis, Larry Leavitt, Kerry Simpson, Matt Finberg, Jimmy Wolf, Barry Rosen and Alan Mack.

ODENING TANKELL

Cheerleaders receiving mega-Berenson, Cindy Carvel, Paula Lerman, Joan Remar and Ava Sulkowitch. Lorri Milstein and Jane Cinamon were instructors and Mrs. Murray Rosen adult adviser.

Mel Zimelman was Sports Night chairman and Abe Zimmerman master of ceremony.